Preparations in high gear for Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield

WILLEMSTAD, MIAMI - Concacaf will stage the official draw for the second Caribbean Club Shield in the new year, as preparations enter high gear for the showpiece set for Curaçao next April.

The draw will be held at Concacaf's headquarters on January 13 and will decide how the 13 participating teams will be arranged across the four groups.

“We are thrilled to celebrate the second edition of the Concacaf Caribbean Club Shield, a tournament which plays a crucial role in the continued growth of our expanded Club Competition Platform,” said Concacaf general secretary Philippe Moggio.

“This tournament, along with the Flow Concacaf Caribbean Club Championship embodies the best of club football in this region and provides Caribbean associations a direct pathway to the confederation's top regional club championships,” he added.

The tournament, which runs from April 5-15, will be hosted at Ergilio Hato Stadium and the Dr Antoine Maduro Stadium in Willemstad.

Title holders Club Franciscain of Martinique head the list of participating teams which includes the likes of Hoppers FC from Antigua, Weymouth Wales from Barbados, and Fruta Conquerors Football from Guyana.

Concacaf, the continental governing body for football in North, Central America and the Caribbean, instituted the tournament as part of their expanded club competition platform with the objective of helping to professionalise clubs throughout the region.

The winner of the shield will secure a shot at a place in next year's Scotiabank Concacaf League.


TEAMS: Hoppers FC (Antigua & Barbuda), Dakota FC (Aruba), Weymouth Wales (Barbados), SV Real Rincon (Bonaire), Scholars International Sports Club (Cayman Islands), Santiago de Cuba (Cuba), Jong Holland (Curacao), Fruta Conquerors Football (Guyana), Club Sportif Moulien (Guadeloupe), Club Franciscain (Martinique), Platinum Football Club (Saint Lucia), Rams Village Superstars (Saint Kitts & Nevis), SV Robinhood (Suriname).

Related News